An Introduction

Hi everyone, and welcome! My name is Tiffany Qi, and I am an upcoming junior undergraduate studying Business Administration at the Haas School of Business in the University of California Berkeley. In addition to Business, I will obtain a double minor in Chinese Studies and Linguistics upon graduation in May 2016.

There are a frightening low number of public resources for undergraduates wishing to pursue a bachelor’s degree in Business Administration at the Haas School of Business. And I don’t mean the ones that state what happens when you get there, or the general advice you receive when you actually apply to Haas. No, I mean internship advice. Classes to take your first semester. What activities to pursue. How to manage a back-up major when Haas itself is already such a lofty goal. Whether Haas is worth it. There is such a large amount of people who pursue the pre-Haas path, and approximately half of those freshmen ultimately turn away from the curriculum, the culture, and ultimately the competition of Haas before applying. Sometimes, the notion that all Haas people are cutthroat pervade the minds of students and creates a negative impression – because let’s face it. We all know that’s what people think.

I want to change that.

Don’t let one pretentious “Haashole” ruin your perception of Haas. I admit, when I was a freshmen, and even a sophomore, I thought the same way. But as soon as I took some upper division classes with some current Haas students, I realized that the major was just like all the other ones, with its fair share of asses and angels.

The goal for this blog is to provide a down-to-earth, insightful and helpful resource from one student to another about Haas, what to expect, and how to prepare for it. Everyone deserves that chance to succeed, not just those who have better connections than others.

My single biggest passion is simply to help others, and I stand by this philosophy every day. In truth, I have been answering questions thrown my way since June 2013, with the creation of CalAsk. Just this summer, I have received over 30 personal inquiries, and this doesn’t include the many questions I have answered for the public on Facebook or on CalAsk in the past. Everyone asks these questions, everyone deserves to find the answers to their questions without having to be secretive about it.

Stay tuned, and I hope all of your inquiries will be answered by the close of the summer. You, Haas-soon-to-be; I wish you luck on your journey.

I’d like to dedicate this blog to the many incoming freshmen who were brave enough to ask a stranger about her experience at Haas, as well as to my roommate, who told me to consolidate all my answers into a blog for everyone to see.

One thought on “An Introduction

Leave a Reply

